Uncategorized

Fourteen Days of Valentines.

Today is February first. I know, I was just as shocked when I found out this morning. I spent a lot of time the last couple weeks perusing Pinterest looking for ideas for my annual fourteen days of valentines blog event but no preparing otherwise. I swear I thought it was still a long ways off. 

Image
Heart chain.

However, since I had done some browsing I was able, and excited to jump right to it. This morning I made a heart chain reminiscent of the one I made for Brian last year. Only this time it’s for the entire family and it’s filled with bible verses. I know that sounds a little cheesy but hey what’s valentines for if not cheese? And, I’ve been looking for a way to incorporate a little more family time into our lives and I think this fits the bill. Every evening the kids can tear off one heart and in the heart is a verse about God’s love. I kept the verses small so SuperH can try to read them to us (something he loves doing these days). If our advent calendar is any indication I think they will really get a kick out of this. I used random scriptures on love but you could also break 1 Cor 13 down verse by verse (the love chapter) I sort of wish I had done that but it didn’t occur to me until I was almost done filling the strips of paper out. Alternately if you didn’t want to use scripture you could ask a silly love question every day like “what’s one thing you love about your brother?”or “what makes you feel special” or just things you as a mom love about your family.

How to make a heart chain:

1. First you write out your scriptures on long pieces of paper. I would have used pink and red colored paper but like I said, caught off guard.

Image

 

2. Then you bend the strips into heart shapes and tape into place. If you were smart (I wasn’t) and made your strips skinny and long enough your can put it together like an old fashioned paper chain. If you made chubby hearts like me, then string them together with some yarn.

Image

 

3. I found using a yarn needle to be very helpful. I poked it down through the top of the heart and out through the bottom in a slit I cut with scissors. I put a knot after each heart to keep it from slipping.

 

Image

 

That’s it, pretty simple and festive. It’s things like this that make me realize the importance of construction paper!!

If your wondering why I love Valentines so much (which I do) or who Saint Valentine’s was (a totally cool guy) you can click here I blathered on about it last year. Let me just add that if Valentine’s is a “hallmark holiday” then why don’t we call Christmas a “Wal-mart holiday” which I would never do (I love Christmas) but you see my point. If your interested in the projects I did last year you can find the “Fourteen days of Valentines” on the side scroll thing next to this post.

 

 

I value your comments and read every one!

