Uncategorized

Paint Chips.

This is the second time I’ve attempted to write this post. Oh computers and technology how I both love and hate you!! Any way, back in the haze of fourteen days of valentine’s I wrote a book review for the book Paint Chips and promised an interview with the lovely and talented author, Susie Finkbeiner. I did not forget but decided to wait until after the crazy love fest was over. Have you ever wondered how your favorite authors think and live their every day life? Where does all that inspiration come from? Well, today we get to find out!

Susie tell us a little about yourself.
Well, I’m a Michigan girl married to my favorite person. We have three more of my favorite people for kids. I homeschool, I write, I drink too much coffee, and I love my friends.

When did you decide to write a novel?
You know, I resisted this novel like crazy. I guess I decided to write it about the time my twin boys were a year old. That, my friend, is a crazy time to start writing a novel. I decided to start writing it when I couldn’t think up another excuse for why I shouldn’t. I’ve been in love with writing novels ever since.


How long did it take from writing the first word to getting it published?
Good gravy. A long time. Just about three years. When I started, I had no idea what I was doing. I only knew what I liked when reading novels by other people. Then I had to take a crash course in rejection. Eventually, I just had to wait for God to bring the publisher to me, which is exactly what He did!


This is a story of shattered faith and redemption. What are some of your inspirations or what did you draw on to write such a lovely story?
You know, Jessie, I’ve experienced some broken times in my life. Just like most people. Because of that, I love a good redemption story. I’ve been blessed to be part of the Anti-Trafficking movement here in Michigan. I have seen broken people transformed. I wanted people to see that hope in my novel. As a matter of fact, I want people to see hope in everything I write.


Why did you decide to tell this story?
That’s a good question. So good, in fact, that I don’t fully know the answer. Part of me would say that I decided to tell this story because I couldn’t keep it locked up inside me. But another part of me (the smarter part) would say that the story decided on me. It picked me to write it. And I just couldn’t resist.


When you were a child, what was your favorite book?
The first book I read all the way through and back through again was Ramona Quimbey, Age 8. I think I read that book four times in a row. I loved her for how snarky and sassy and tomboyish she was. But I also felt like her character was like me in some ways. Later on, I grew to love Roald Dahl, Shel Silverstein, Kipling, Barry, and so on. I really was surrounded by story as a child.


When you were a teenager, what was your favorite book?
I grew into a voracious reader in my teen years (thanks to a few teachers who kept piling on the books). I fell in love with Shakespeare, Dostoevsky, and (of course) Steinbeck.


(I think you get where I’m going with this) and, currently, what is your favorite book?
I still love my old teenage favorites. I swoon when I think of “The Grapes of Wrath” and “East of Eden”. Literally. My husband knows about it. He’s okay with it.


Just so we know you are human, what is your favorite thing to watch on tv?
It all depends on my mood. I watch Saturday Night Live every single week (unless I’m ill). I’ve watched it since I was 8 years old. I know. That’s kind of young. I also like to watch Intervention, Hoarders, and Obsessed. Like I said early, I love a good redemption story. Those three shows have beautiful stories of lives brought back from the dead.


What is your favorite thing about being a writer?
Great question. The answer is….all of it. I love everything about being a writer. I love the way the keys feel on my fingertips as I click along. I love meeting my characters and that feeling I get when I realize that they are part of me. I love hearing from the gorgeous people who read what I’ve written. I love how an idea smacks me in the face when I’m out and about (and usually when I’m sitting in church). I love it. I feel so honored to have been chosen for this life.

Thank you so much for taking the time to sit down with us Susie! Paint Chips is available for digital download from Amazon, Barnes & Noble and as an ITunes ibook, if you don’t have an e-reader the paperback version comes out April 15th. If you can’t wait to read more from Susie you can check out her blog here. This book is a fantastic first novel you won’t be disappointed. In fact I believe it’s so good that sometime soon (hopefully next week) I’m going to bring you a yummy cooking segment inspired by this novel so get reading!!

5 thoughts on “Paint Chips.

I value your comments and read every one!

