Uncategorized

I’m Home.

I’m back from a most lovely vacation in Jamaica. This is my first time going out of the Country (not including Canada), my first time through customs and my first time needing a passport. It was very exciting and almost too adventurous for a nervous soul like myself. Almost but not quite…

Gardens, the ocean and a sea breeze. I understand why people have to live here.
Gardens, the ocean and a sea breeze. I understand why people have to live here.

I went with my mom and it was so beautiful and relaxing. The resort was so me. Built in the fifties in the style of the Grand Hotel. Our room looked over the ocean which was the most beautiful color; indigo, then teal, then aqua.

I spent my time swimming, and eating, and swimming. It was so fancy! I dressed for breakfast in a cute/casual outfit and drank the most amazing coffee while gazing at the ocean. Then swam all day and ate lunch in my bathing suit, dressed for dinner in a dress and had a late supper. I felt very downtonish while people brought me drinks and catered to my every need.

My homemade wardrobe (remember the white "bathing suit cover") and my dearest mom.
My homemade wardrobe (remember the white “bathing suit cover”) and my dearest mom.

I snorkeled a bit and took a water aerobics class with a very hunky instructor. I’m blushing just typing that. I also climbed some waterfalls. It was a bit touristy but very very cool. One of the best things was being with my mom. Just the two of us. I’m very blessed in that I’ve always had a good relationship with my mommy. However, time, distance, children and very different lives have, (I don’t know what the right word is, taken their toll seems to harsh), just changed things, or maybe blunted some of the sharp edges of that need for each other. We make an effort to spend time together alone but it’s very short amounts with long stretches in-between. This trip washed some of that distance, created by life, out to the Jamaican sea. Oh how I miss her now! There is always a dull throb for her and dad and my sisters but this is more sharply felt then before the trip. I guess that’s good?

It's a very romantic place. I would like to come back to some day with Brian. Oh how fast a vacation goes!
It’s a very romantic place. I would like to come back to some day with Brian. Oh how fast a vacation goes!

I’d go on but there’s so much to say and I don’t want to make you all jealous. It was so wonderful, they even served afternoon tea complete with tiny sandwiches!! Seriously how perfect is that?

3 thoughts on “I’m Home.

I value your comments and read every one!

