Uncategorized

Early Summer

These first few weeks of summer are always the sweetest. Windows wide open, warm breezes (mid summer breezes always make me feel like I’m standing in front of an open oven). Things growing and surprising me everywhere. I feel like every walk I go on I see something new.

Image
My good walking parter. Tulip and flowering pear trees.

 

I’ve spent several wonderful days filling my window boxes, adding to my flower garden, creating herb containers, and worrying over my vegetable garden. There really isn’t much I can do for the vegetables except hope, gardening is weird that way, especially when your not sure what your doing.

The herb containers are fun. I have one filled with things for tea: chamomile, lemon balm, peppermint, thyme and lavender. Another one filled with Italian herbs: three different kinds of basil, (I love basil) rosemary, thyme and oregano. The lemon balm and the lavender smell amazing! I really hope I use these herbs and I’d love to try drying them though I’m a bit overwhelmed at the prospect. If anyone has pointers I’d love to hear them. Also what do you think about adding lavender and the other herbs straight to a bath, is that an acceptable practice or is it bad?

Image

 

Last week we had houseguests. I love summer houseguests it so makes me wish I lived on a lake. Cookouts, and big breakfasts, the only things missing are swimsuits and boat rides! I’ve also gotten to take the two little boys to the zoo twice. At the end of the week school will be out and I’ll have four kids!! That’s a lot of crazy but for now it’s just the three of us and these two boys are so good it shouldn’t be allowed. Right now they’re attacking a dirt pile with lots of vigor; I know I’ll pay for it later but it’s just so summery and boyish and reminds me of my childhood summers.

Working on a birthday dress for myself and I’m repainting one of those faded little tykes picnic tables. Not sure how either project will turn out but I’m hopeful. What are you up to sweet readers?

One thought on “Early Summer

  1. I completely agree, I love these mellow, yet toasty, early days of summer so much, too. There are good points to the dog days, too, but they tend to be so much more draining (especially if you don’t have central air, which we don’t) and can sometimes seem like they’re going to last forever. Three cheers for the first gentle days of the season and all the wonders that they hold.

    ♥ Jessica

I value your comments and read every one!

