Uncategorized

Birthday!

This week certainly got away from me but that’s all right because today is my birthday! I love my birthday (is that bad to say?). I do it hobbit style (well that sounded naughty) by throwing a cookout. The reason being the things I like doing the best are baking and feeding people and sewing so why not do those for my own birthday, and then I’m guaranteed to be with people I love (not all of them of course but at least some of them). 

Image
Wearing a full coverage vintage apron is a must for frosting a cake. The pattern for my dress came from Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing. My favorite flower (besides roses) from my dearest husband.

I made a birthday dress and despite being really nervous about it I think it turned out well. Actually it’s making me feel very “Call the Midwife“. Very early fifties. Yesterday I did most of my errands and cleaning and prep so today I can concentrate on the fun things; decorating and frosting a cake. Yesterday I wore my retro capri’s and a blouse made from a 1940’s reissue pattern, had my hair up in pin curls. Today I’m in a shirtwaist dress with big ol’ vintage curls… ahh… bliss.

Well, I’ve got to split, there’s a pie to be made. I love you all. Pics and recipes of the birthday bash to accompany my next Hey Doll article. Oh and I have an article in the latest issue check it out here.

4 thoughts on “Birthday!

  1. Happiest (slightly belated) birthday wishes! With all my heart, I truly hope that you have a joyous, beautiful, vintage filled year of great times and awesome memories ahead!

    ♥ Jessica

    *PS* Love your cute dress here – that pattern and colour palette is so timelessly pretty.

I value your comments and read every one!

