Uncategorized

A Doubting Time.

Do you ever have those times when you feel really under-equipped for life? I’m going through a little bit of that right now. Nothing too serious, not anything like after my first son was born (yikes those were a few rough months) but yea I’m feeling sort of adrift (which is, ironically, the name of the paint color in my sewing room).

Back to school is always a little hard for me (which I discussed previously) and it’s hard on the kids. They’re loving school but they’re tired and crabby and not so much fun to be around at home. Of course they’ve also brought home germs so we’re all struggling with runny noses and sore throats. And, we’ve also been experiencing a rash of extra expenses lately which is no fun and included an extra vet trip where the Doctor told me my dog has a little bit of arthritis. This isn’t shocking I’ve been noticing it for a while and he is old, but that’s the thing; he’s getting old. I love my dog.

However, the biggest hurdle, (that I’ve stumbled quite ungracefully over), is that I’ve been plagued by self-doubt lately. Am I a good writer? Do the words I put out there mean anything? Will I be an asset to Sew Unique? Am I fat?

Image
I had to share this Ann Taylor jacket I got for $6! Phase one of my (turning into more then I bargained for) costume is done. Moving on to phase two!

I know I’m not the only one who struggles with these questions, and I know that on some level these questions don’t matter. You have to keep going and keep trying and keep telling yourself that your weight isn’t as important as your health. Each chapter I write and blog I post is a good step forward even if I don’t know exactly where I’m going.

I’m not telling you this so you’ll feel sorry for me. I’m telling you this because I want you to know that it’s not all perfect seams and warm loaves of bread. It’s one of the less than happy confessions. And, I’m really grateful for you stopping by and reading my words and just knowing that some of you have been in my shoes makes me feel better. The other thing that makes me feel better is sewing and presents. So I’m giving away one of these owls. I made them for the shop blog, and if your curious pop over there to see more photos and to find out how you can snag a pattern for yourself.

Image
A parliament of owls! One of these cute feathered creatures is up for grabs!

Leave a comment here to be entered for the owl, and if you win you can choose which ever owl pleases you best. Fall is here  and I’d love to know what your favorite things about the season are. It’s hard to pick one and just knowing that cider, and apple picking, and golden leaves are in my future makes the fact that I had to pay to have the carpets cleaned because I left the hose on all day and flooded the basement…sigh… feel less annoying.

7 thoughts on “A Doubting Time.

  1. My beautiful Jessie, you are too hard on yourself. You are so talented! I love to read what you write and I myself have things in my house that you have made for me, that people don’t believe I didn’t buy at a store! Your baby is going to school….change is hard and it’s your baby. I remember those days. Hang in there love. We will be there soon. As for your question about Fall…….it means the end of summer so I really don’t like it!

I value your comments and read every one!

