Uncategorized

Necklaces

I was overwhelmed by the love and support from all of you after my last post. It’s sometimes hard to put the truth out there into words, but I’m so glad that I did because I was encouraged in ways I didn’t even know I needed. Thank you all so much.

ImageImage

So this little thing is a new invention of mine (helped along by the inter webs of course). This is my “Story Tree” necklace. I created these necklaces for my sisters who both support my writing so much. It was part of their xmas present. I wanted them to see how their love is helping my little story to grow and flourish. The idea is that you start with one little idea (the stone in the roots) and it grows into an entire tree. I’m taking one to a writer friend of mine at our writing group today. She finished the first draft of her book! That might not sound like a lot but if your a writer who’s struggling and hasn’t been “discovered” yet, that’s huge. Just the time and dedication to get that far (something I have yet to manage). I think it’s important to celebrate and commemorate those steps along the way, to encourage each other (the way you all encourage me) and to, someday, help us remember how we got to where we were going.

I wanted to give an update on the bags. I’ve sold a few and it’s very exciting. I had no idea sewing for people like this could be so rewarding. I’ve added several new fabric ideas, Doctor Who, My Little Pony and some other forest friends type fabrics. The fabrics on my boards are ideas, I’m up for anything you have in mind if it’s something I can find. I should say though, that if it’s a fabric from Spoonflower (this is where all of the Doctor Who fabric and Some of the My Little Pony Fabric is from) the bags will cost a little more because that fabric is all special order (though it is seriously cool fabric, designed by independent designer which is awesome), and the $35 is for one fabric for the inside and outside of the bag, it might cost a bit more if you want a different lining. 

I’m also going to start taking orders for two of my necklaces because I really enjoy making them and with Valentine’s around the corner I thought this might be a good time.

Image
The color of these stones (my favorites) kind of absorbed the light for the photo sorry about that.

This one is what I call the “Nestlace” and is a nest made of wire with different colored swavorski type beads as the eggs. I’ve actually made many of these for family and friends and friends of family. I can make them with any colors you’d like and they come on a 20” or 24” chain. Several people have had these nestlaces made up with birth stone colors and I’ve used river rocks and old buttons for some.

Image

 I’m  taking orders for the trees because I think this tree could really represent any significant thing in our lives, or maybe you just really love trees (which I totally do). This pendant is about 1.5” across and comes on a 30” chain (of course the length of the chain can vary depending of your tastes.

Image

Both necklaces come in a hand crafted box, though the boxes totally vary. The Nestlace is $18 and the Story Tree is $22 (the story tree uses a lot more wire and takes longer to make, also it’s bigger). If your at all interested or have any questions about them or the bags leave a comment or email me jessieheninger@hotmail.com.

Image

Thank you again for all the love. I want to start being more open about some things, it’s difficult, I don’t always feel like I can if it involves loved ones, but I think it would be nice to start discussions on here about some of these things that haunt us all. We’ll see.

 

6 thoughts on “Necklaces

  1. Immensely pretty creations! The delicate, yet substantial at the same time, wire work here is simply stunning.

    I wholeheartedly understand what you mean about struggling to open up online (and/or in general). It’s a subject that’s been on my mind a lot too in recent months and I wrote about it on my blog around the New Year, in the hopes that doing so would continue to push me to being more open about things both deeply personal and seemingly mundane (to the average person). If you ever need someone to talk to about this, dear lady, please know that I’m here for you.

    ♥ Jessica

    1. Thank you so much Jessica. It’s nice to know I have an advocate and someone who understands where I’m coming from. I would actually like to ask your opinion about some specific things. Is there a way I can contact you privately, through email perhaps?

  2. I’m so glad that you started selling your wonderful creations. I told heather when I first saw your necklaces that you should sell them. So glad you made the leap. I tell my daughter that she should sell the jewelry she makes but she hasn’t made that leap yet. It takes a bit of courage to put your wares out there for all to see. Happy that you found the courage.

I value your comments and read every one!

