Uncategorized

On Giving Up: The Sequel

IMG_2180

Yesterday I awoke feeling nervous because it was the day to practice the Last Supper skit I talked about HERE. I was absent from the blog world last week because my sister and I were at the biannual Festival of Faith and Writing, and let me tell you, that conference will blow your mind! I came back completely ready to dive into the skit and then dive into writing and to immerse myself in words, and verbs, and ideas, and new comic books…

Then I stumbled upon this comment on the Sew Unique blog:

“I sincerely hope that Sew Unique is not paying this “blogger.” Not only was the information poorly written, it was riddled with grammar and spelling errors.  As a teacher and an artist, I found this blog to be equal parts elementary and offensive to the English language. Wow.” 

I have no idea how I avoided seeing this comment for as long as I did (It was posted last September). When I read it (and the other one she left after a very sweet person came to my defense) yesterday, I had a completely weird mix of feelings. I was hurt, certainly, but I was also kind of amused. I mean it’s a sewing blog… Certainly not pulitzer prize winning. All I was attempting to do was share a fun quick project with the internet. Because, because, because I love sharing, and because I love sewing. I certainly had no idea that I was single handedly ruining the English language. “Elementary?”, I mean is Sherlock reading my blog posts? She called me a blogger…in quotations! QUOTATIONS! Should I laugh or cry?

I think laugh, here’s why. First, every writer I know that has gotten any kind of attention has dealt with this kind of negativity. So maybe this means I’ve finally arrived as a writer? Second, it’s the internet, and the internet is a crazy place where some people forget their manners. Let this be a lesson to remember to be kind, even on Facebook. Behind every post, every misspelled word, every incorrect factoid is a human being that has a heart and a brain and fears and insecurities. Third, I think this person is a bitter human. I hope that she doesn’t bring this kind of negativity to her students, and I certainly have no idea what kind of life she has. I’m sorry she had to take it out on a stranger, but it helps to know this comment might not really be about me at all.

What’s interesting is that while at the conference the speakers kept bringing up all these weird things I’d been telling my friends about. Things like flow, Avatar, women in ministry. We even saw the author of the book “Thrill of the Chaste: The Allure of Amish Romance Novels ” Which I’d heard about on the Podcast, “A Way With Words” and told everyone I knew because I thought the title of the book was so clever (I haven’t actually read it). I felt like I was totally meant to be at the conference, like it was God’s subtle funny way of proving that he wants me to keep on this road. I came home to this skit, with confidence and then, BAM! Hateful comments. Hateful comments that had been there for months, but I only just now became aware of. Kind of like insecurities that are hiding beneath the surface.

Ephesians 2:10 says, “For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” I’m not saying my writing isn’t without blemish, (just ask my writer’s group, they know I love a run-on sentence, but they point it out in a helpful loving way) however, I do feel that God has put this desire in my heart, and I’ll keep on this journey. Hopefully some of my words touch someone’s heart, or makes them laugh, or reminds a few people that there is good and magic in this world. At the very least I don’t think it’s too “offensive to the English language”. Maybe just a little offensive? Though, I rarely use naughty words.

And, in case you were wondering. Practice went just fine.

 

15 thoughts on “On Giving Up: The Sequel

  1. “Behind every post, every misspelled word, every incorrect factoid is a human being that has a heart and a brain and fears and insecurities. ”
    When I’m back on fb I will be sharing this. 🙂
    Great post!

  2. I always enjoy reading your post. There is always something in time that touches me and that’s what is important not mistakes in grammer or punctuation. Keep doing what you are doing Jess.

  3. I seriously love your attitude! Internet comments can be so nasty. I adore your response and your heart. That matters sooo much more than any grammatical misstep. You’re just wonderful all the way through. Keep writing!

  4. Oh my gosh! That’s crazy!! I can’t believe someone could be so cruel as to say such things. Good on you for keeping a great attitude, and for keeping on going. The blogosphere needs more positive voices, and less of the vitriol you’ve witnessed there.
    P.S. Glad your script is going well 🙂

  5. Though, by and large, I find the blogging sphere (at least the corners of it in which I opt to spend my time) to be a generally warm, supportive and very kind spot to dwell, one must have something of a thick skin when they put themselves out there week after week, month after month, and year after year as we do on our sites. I too have received some negative comments (often from so-called online trolls) that really got my goat, too, but ultimately I made a conscious choice not to let them eat away at me. There will always be those who feel they gain the upper hand by knocking others down, but in reality, they’ll only do so if we are hurt/crushed by the words and/or alter our lives because of them. You and your blog are both marvelous and not worthy of that kind of unjust criticism in the slightest. Forget about that harsh soul and focus on the good people and things that make this exciting blogging journey worthwhile for you, sweet dear.

    ♥ Jessica

I value your comments and read every one!

