Uncategorized

Conference Time

A picture of me and one of my dearest friends, who is also a writer. I mostly wanted an excuse to show this picture off!
A picture of me and one of my dearest friends, who is also a writer. I mostly wanted an excuse to show this picture off!

Tomorrow I’m leaving for my annual writer’s conference. And, I’m dealing with a head cold. My husband says I have really bad luck when it comes to traveling and health and I’d have to agree, though, I’m guessing our day trip to ceader point in freezing temperatures did little to help the situation. That being said, I’m hopeful that by tomorrow I’ll be on the mend. I’ve been drinking tons of herbal tea and eating soup and trying to make myself rest, which is really hard since I’m leaving for the weekend. I have a whole list of things to get done and I’m slowly taking things off as I go (sew myself new pajama pants will have to wait, my yoga pants will have to do.)

I’m nervous this time around too, because my writing group (about half of which are coming) are making me sign up for the one on one’s with authors and editors. I have no idea what questions to ask and I keep telling myself it’s about networking and practice so that when my book is ready to be shopped around I have some experience. But I truly feel like I’m going into this blind which is the thing I hate most (not knowing what to expect).

What I need to focus on isn’t the unknown but what I do know. I know that I am blessed to spend the weekend with dear friends who are also on this amazing writing journey with me. These are women who have changed the way I think and given me confidence I thought I’d never have. They’ll be there to hold my hand and possibly laugh at me if I get too drugged up with night time cold medicine. This is where the most benefit will come to my career and to me personally. Investing time with my group!

5 thoughts on “Conference Time

I value your comments and read every one!

