Uncategorized

When Work is Overwhelming

FullSizeRender-4 copy 5
This is Mr. Basil. He’s briitish and quite dapper and resides on my end table.

I have been living in between two worlds lately. Sunday we got a snowstorm which snowed us in for a couple days. The shoveling was epic but my youngest stood in the front window and waved to me and gave me “window kisses” and that made it totally worth it. I used the cozy day to make this fox friend I’ve had waiting in the project pile since my birthday (in June!). I had put it off for two reasons, it’s for me and I don’t always love hand sewing. This time it was totally different I don’t know if it was the snowy nature of the project or if it’s because I’ve been reading “Little House in the Big Woods” lately but I enjoyed this project immensely. Sometimes it’s good to slow down, unplug, take your time with needle and thread and make something for your own self to enjoy.FullSizeRender-4 copy 6

IMG_5450
This guy thinks I’ve been gone too much, and he’s miffed that it’s been too cold to go walking. Poor thing.

At the same time we’ve begun digitizing the fabric shop. Oh. My. Goodness. It is going to be so much work. Every bolt of fabric, spool of thread, and button will have to be entered into the computer so that it can be scanned and checked out. I’m the kind that gets overwhelmed really easily. I’m also the kind that can’t focus on one step at a time I see the whole jumbled mess reaching into infinity   …EAK! What I’m trying to learn to do is take it one step at a time. Don’t focus on the entire staircase just look at this one step and eventually with my co-workers we’ll get there (I hope). And I do get to use a scan gun which is really fun. And there are extra hours to be had, yippee. Though, that’s time away from home and my novel. I wish I were better at finding balance, and I think I’ll keep trying to get good at it, perhaps it’s a learned trait.FullSizeRender-4 copy 4

4 thoughts on “When Work is Overwhelming

I value your comments and read every one!

