Uncategorized

New Work Space, New Work Ethic.

I have a laptop. It’s getting quite old, it’s been stepped on, it’s dirty it’s very very slow. I love it anyway because, well, it’s my computer. The one I used when I for-real-decided that I was indeed a writer and not a wannabe. But, I also get very frustrated with it because it’s very slow and sometimes it won’t charge and sometimes it gets senile and forgets what it was doing (did I mention a child once stepped on it?)

FullSizeRender
Here’s the view from the doorway. The floor is clean! You can see my beloved sewing machine and my ironing board (currently not laboring under the weight of a thousand projects).

My husband needed a laptop for his job and he has this super swanky really professional looking computer. He decided to bring it home so he could use it here and use his new laptop at work. He was going to put it in the basement but I knew that was not the place for it. The place for it was in my sewing room, on a new desk and I would have a really professional artistic work space and it would be magic.

My vintage sewing chair (the seat opens!!) and my stash of vintage lace and buttons.
My vintage sewing chair (the seat opens!!) and my stash of vintage lace and buttons.

IT TOTALLY IS.

Of course I had to totally rearrange everything and get rid of some furniture that was just taking up room and actually clean and hang a new silhouette of Nancy Drew as inspiration. At one point I sat in the middle of the messy floor and cried but now that’s it put together; It’s wonderful. 

FullSizeRender copy
My very cool new desk. My HUGE computer. My wonderful writing inspired art.

I feel very professional. And it may sound silly but feeling professional has a lot to do with acting professional. With confidence. They say to dress for the job you want, well I think the same thing applies for your work space. Create a space that inspires you, that’s not overly distracting. Dream about the space the would-be-successful-you would have and then make that happen (as much as possible my house didn’t magically change locations to the lake front or anything).

This desk has cool cubby shelves that feel very artsy to me.
This desk has cool cubby shelves that feel very artsy to me.
A close up of the desk which my husband and I put together without fighting once!
A close up of the desk which my husband and I put together without fighting once!

I hope you enjoyed my little tour. I also posted on Sew Unique’s blog today. A piece about our past and quilts and people stories and if you’d like to read it click HERE.

7 thoughts on “New Work Space, New Work Ethic.

  1. Lovely!! I hear you about the computer. Skippy was mine. His auto correct dictionary would slip into French about once a week. That was the sign, but it was hard to give him up.

I value your comments and read every one!

