aunts · death · love

Seasons

Sorry I’ve been MIA the last couple of weeks. I have to remind myself that summer is like this. Unpredictable, spur-of-the-moment. It’s one of the things I both love and hate about summer. I love the lazy, lakeside, ice cream and fireflies of it but I do hate that some of the regular things I do get pushed aside. The things that give me energy like blogging and writing. I tell myself that for everything there is a season.

Which was really brought home to me this week. My Great Aunt passed away. We called her Grandma Helen because her and dad’s uncle took my dad in when he was still a boy. She loved us like we were hers. She was a tiny farmers wife full of spunk and hardiness. She was one of those ladies who lived through some really tragic moments. She lost her daughter and six weeks later her husband, yet still loved and laughed and cared for those around her.

An impossibly young couple who's love would reach countless others.
An impossibly young couple who’s love would reach countless others.

It was bittersweet to be with my dad during this time. To be part of his grief. I’ve never seen him like this. It was interesting, too, how it brought back so many memories of his childhood, memories that didn’t necessarily have to do with her. I was honored to accompany him to her funeral. Back to our old hometown. Neither of us had been there in a long time and it was strange. So many relatives that I didn’t really know but that are connected to us through blood and through this one woman. I was struck when her daughter was reading her memories of her mother how one life lived well can reach so many. How one person’s love can go on and on even once they’re gone.

I don’t know what would have happened to my dad if she and her husband hadn’t taken him in. What kind of person daddy would have become. What type of husband and father if their love hadn’t been there to comfort him. If he were different how different would I be? Would I be here at all? It’s awe inspiring and humbling to see what one life can do.

Thank you Grandma Helen for a faithful life lived serving others. Thank you for loving my dad and for loving us. See you on the other side.

7 thoughts on “Seasons

I value your comments and read every one!

