Uncategorized

Time to Celebrate!

The winner of the “Balance, Busyness and Not Doing it All” is Jodi! Congratulations and I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did and I hope some of the rest of you will check it out as well. It was such an encouragement.

This week has been pretty exciting. Well, exciting to me, in one of those personal goals not too many other people are going to be as geeked up as me sort of way. Yesterday I wrote the last word to the first draft of my novel. SQUEEL!! Okay let me back up a little; first draft is no where near ready for publication, as so many published authors are fond of pointing out, and I know there is a lot more work to do. So much work in fact that I could drown in the anxiety of it all. I mean how does one even go about finding an agent…

I could jump right into re-writes, I could curl up in a ball and wonder why it’s so hard, or I could celebrate! Our culture does not celebrate enough. Sure there’s more to do, but I’ve come further then I ever have before and I think that’s worth a pause and happy feelings.

That's six notebooks filled!
That’s six notebooks filled!

I started this book one year and three months ago. I finished it yesterday at 11:38 am. I wrote the final “r” and then sat back, felt a little queasy, got scared, then excited. Then I did a load of laundry and took the dog for a walk…mwaaa mwaaa… If it had been any other day I would have picked up a celebratory lunch for my husband and I to enjoy but he was out of town. I couldn’t just not do anything that is too mundane and too silly. So I went to Starbucks picked up two frappes and went to my writing-stay-at-home mom’s house (we started our writing journeys together so it made sense) She met me on her porch and when I told her the news we screamed and jumped up and down, her daughters looking at us in confusion. What a sweet moment, one I hope I remember a long time. That shared joy, the true happiness from her knowing what it meant that I had come this far, reminiscing together about when she finished her first draft. It was perfect.

Tonight is writer’s group, and I baked up a raspberry cream cake and bought a bottle of champaign because if anyone should celebrate with me it’s them. They’ve been listening to me ramble on about it for as long as I’ve been writing it, they’ve critiqued and read it right along with me.

You guys, let’s celebrate! I mean there’s a lot of hard work and sadness in this world but there’s also wonderful beautiful victories and I think they deserve a moment. It doesn’t have to be anything huge, but there’s certainly something special in raising a glass with like-minded people who have your back.

3 thoughts on “Time to Celebrate!

I value your comments and read every one!

