Uncategorized

Seattle

Here we are. We made it to Seattle our new home. Of course by Seattle I mean Shoreline and by “our new home” I mean the place, not the actual house we’ll live in, but isn’t ready until July, and by “we” I mean husband and I, as our kids are still across the country with grandparents.

Transition. Seemingly never ending. It will end. I hope, and for now, I’m trying to make the best of everything. Getting my feet under me, going out with people trying to make new connections.

Our first full day here I was overcome by severe homesickness. The pressure and speed and stress of moving having masked what I knew was coming. I know it’s still there too, grief. The natural emotional steps we have to take to get to a new stage in life, the steps we take to deal with loss.

In some ways now that we’re here it’s easier. The day to day pain of knowing I’ll miss these people in front of me, is gone, and there is an ease of not having the kids here right this moment. I’m sort of a little starting to recognize things (though not well). But I also know that eventually, I’ll have to face it, the loss of my old home. I’m planning on doing that here, as a series.

For now here’s what I’ve learned so far: Trader Joes is NOT Aldis. It’s much fancier but also much more expensive and there is less gf stuff. I’ll take more gf and cheaper any day. The Northwest is beautiful, smells like pine and the Sound is breathtaking. There are people here I really like, people I think I’ll be able to build community with. That’s a nice thought.

And finally, today I walked the dog by myself (and only got a little lost). Using a handwritten map. We made our way through footpaths and strange little, overgrown alleys and suddenly I was standing  next to a library on a hill overlooking the Puget Sound and I had to stop and marvel that this is the kind of place I’m living now. A place that is filled with magic, so long as I don’t let discouragement steal it from me.

IMG_2358

13 thoughts on “Seattle

  1. I am so proud of you Jess! I k ow what it’s like to move thousands of miles from home where you don’t know anyone. It will be tough at first but it does get better. Building community takes time, it’s not an instant over night fix like we want it to be. If you ever need to chat with someone who has done a similar journey I’m here to chat any time! I love you oodles!!!!! 😘😘😘😘😘😘😘

  2. You’re over the worst part of it, though! And God showing you magical moments is exactly what will get you through these next few weeks. Good to see Ranger taking care of things. What a good boy. 🙂 love you!!

  3. 😭😭😭 I think that’s going to be my response to all your posts for a while. Happy tears and sad tears and I love and miss Jessie tears! So good to read this beginning post of your journey. You are loved!

  4. Welcome to the PNW. I was in your place 2 1/2 years ago. Leaving Dallas after 30 years. Leaving the friends we started our families alongside. Leaving the church where I met Charlie. We have loved transitioning here. Yes, there were the dark days, loneliness, just-me-and-the-dog days. But God showed me that I needed a change, a new start, an opportunity to learn. Our motto is “adventure awaits.” Almost weekly, I say to Charlie, “We get to live here. We really live here.” A wise friend once told me to wait two years before accessing the move. She said it takes that long to put down roots. Meanwhile, enjoy the views.

I value your comments and read every one!

