books · Publishing · Uncategorized · Writing

Enough Success to go Around.

I’ve lived with the dream of being a published author almost as long as I’ve been able to read. In my early years of actively pursuing said dream, I used to feel discouraged when other people were successful. I remember going to a conference when I was in college and looking at the massive crowds and thinking “all of these people think they can write a book. No way we’re all going to actually do it.” And that thought paralyzed me. What made me think I was different than any of those other people? Or maybe it’s a human weakness to believe there is only so much “success” to go around.

Ironically God began to put other writers into my life fairly early and fairly consistently. Different genres, different places in their careers but I now know a lot of writers. Thank goodness He’s also allowed me to mature. I no longer see my friends books as a strike against my future book, instead it give me courage and hope. If they can do it then, maybe, so can I. I’ve come to a place where I’m happy with the success of other people I know, because I’ve gotten to be part of their journey and they’re part of mine.

Then we moved away from everyone I knew! Including the writers. And wouldn’t you know it, our neighbor across the street was a writer!! God is so funny sometimes.

In the last six months two friends of mine (including the neighbor, turned friend) have had books come out. Completely different genres and I enjoyed them both immensely. When I see their books on my shelf I feel happy and I look forward to the day my own books are up there too!!

If you’re a fan of historical fiction you have to check out A Trail of Crumbs by my friend Susie Finkbeiner. It’s the sequel to her book A Cup of Dust. Both books are beautiful stories that take place during the Great Depression and the prose are absolutely stunning. Nothing about Susie’s book feels forced. You can grab a copy HERE.

IMG_0740

 

If you love Sci-Fi and or Portal adventures then Fade Rift by Craig Krohn, is the book for you. It’s a fast paced ride that doesn’t let up. Filled with nightmarish monsters and super fun gadgets I enjoyed this book from start to finish, and am really hopeful that there will be a sequel. You can get a digital or paper back copy HERE.

IMG_0742

These two books couldn’t be any more different but both authors are wonderful, creative people who have inspired me to keep plugging away at mine. (Draft three about 1/3 of the way done!) And I have a copy of Fade Rift to give away!! If your interested leave a comment on Facebook or on the blog. I’ll draw sometime at the end of the week.

2 thoughts on “Enough Success to go Around.

  1. Great thoughts, Jessie! I, too, am amazed at how many authors I know after attending Breathe and the Cedar Falls Christian Workshop. They are amazing people and they inspire me all the time (even though I’m moving pretty slowly in my own writing journey). Blessings to you – can’t wait to read your book someday! ~Robyn

I value your comments and read every one!

