Uncategorized

My Mother’s Chamomile

Image
This is my favorite tea. Lady Grey, it has pretty flowers in it, is mild and oh I wish you could smell this tea, it’s amazing! My local bakery imports it for me because you can’t buy it online (at least not that I’ve found).

Today I have a guest post from a friend, Susie Finkbeiner. Not only is she sweet, caring, and very brave she’s also a published author! Her books “Paint Chips” and “My Mother’s Chamomile” are excellent. If you haven’t checked them out yet, you must! Click HERE to see her books or Here to check out her blog. Also leave a comment on this blog to win a prize package that includes a paint chips note book (get it) and a tin of my very favorite imported tea! Thank you so much for sharing these beautiful thoughts. Here’s Susie:

Image
Susie has been such an encouragement to me, and her books are so inspiring. Check out her blog HERE.

“I can’t sleep.” My daughter stood in the living room in her horse pajamas, hair full of static from tossing and turning. “I’m not tired.”

“Well, honey,” I said from my writing desk. “You really need to get some sleep. It’s a school night.”

“I know.” She pouted. “But I can’t make myself be tired.”

She climbed up into my lap and rested her head on my shoulder. These moments are rare, so I let her snuggle for a few minutes.

“Hey,” I kissed the top of her head. “You want some fairy tea?”

She nodded then looked at me with a gorgeous smile.

While the water warmed, I measured the leaves into a tea ball. The fairy tea. It’s nothing magical, not really. Just a mix of peppermint, rose, lavender, and chamomile. But my daughter swears it is magic. After all, it’s fairy tea.

She sipped from the mug, telling me that it was working already. Within moments, she was yawning. Rubbing her chocolate brown eyes. She let me carry her to bed and tuck her in.

Nothing magic. Just tea. Bits of leaves and dried out flowers. Hot water. A favorite mug. A couple snuggles and kisses.

In my novel My Mother’s Chamomile, my character Gretchen has a garden full of the ingredients to make fairy tea. It’s her method of comforting those she loves. More than once, a steaming cup of tea is shared. But it’s more than just tea.

It’s life that is shared.

Tea encourages us to slow down. Take time to boil water. Be intentional about measuring the leaves. Exercise patience while the tea steeps and breathe in the aromatic steam. Enjoy the company of a friend, special somebody, or a sleepless child.

And all that from a teaspoon full of dried leaves.

Maybe it is magic after all.

Your turn to share. What’s your very favorite kind of tea? Not a tea drinker? What’s your favorite beverage to share with a good friend?

Image
Susie’s newest book broke my heart yet left me filled with hope and love. Check it out HERE.
11 thoughts on “My Mother’s Chamomile

  1. Oh my this one touched a special place in my heart. Tea for me always brings comfort. I have a special lady in my life who helped raise me up to be the women I am today. From early child my fondest memories are over cups of tea. Just regular salada tea with cream and sugar. We have laughed and cried while sitting at her big farmhouse kitchen table sipping tea. She still takes her tea the same way after 40 yrs just a bit of cream. We haven’t seen each other in a few years but I imagine when we do it will be at the same kitchen table with a cup of hot tea. Thank you for jogging a very sweet memory. I just put the kettle on for a cup of vanilla chai tea.

  2. Ha! I adore Lady Grey, it’s my very favourite tea. My best friend introduced me to it, and I always make sure I have a box in the house for when she comes. True confessions though – I don’t think I’ve ever drunk it freshly brewed from a pot. Gasp! I’ll have to buy some.

  3. My dad had iced tea just about every day. I was so excited to be big enough to make the gallon pitcher for my Papa. Brewed Earl Grey on the stove, poured the steaming tea into a pitcher of water. He is (still) a very hard worker, and I loved bringing him a big mug of iced tea after he did lawnwork or carpentry. 🙂

  4. What wonderful memories you brought back to me of tea with my Mom and quiet talks. There are so many great teas to choose from and I like their medicinal properties so medication isn’t required, hawthorn for colds and coughs, chamomile for relaxation, valerian for sleep and of course the cats claw or devil’s claw for creaky bones. It’s so nice to take a few moments out of a busy day and slow down and know God is near if we but listen.

I value your comments and read every one!

